Heading banner

Local News

Wreck on S Curve New Haven Shawneetown Blcktop

Sunday, November 27, 2016

At approx. 12:30 PM the Ridgway Fire Dept was called out to a 1 car accident at the S curve on the New Haven Shawneetown Blcktop about 2 miles north of the Ridgway Road.  Upon arrival the vehicle of Hershel Smith of Ridgway had left the roadway and flipped.  At this time the extent of injuries or any charges are unknown.

Displaying 14481.jpeg

Displaying 2409_1480302241156.jpeg


State Farm Donates Computers to Gallatin County School

State Farm Insurance and State Farm Rep Nancy Braddock donate 20 new computers to the Gallatin County School.  Shown in the photo are Rep. Braddock and school officials graciously accepting.  

Hawks Basketball Underway; 2 wins at Turkey Tournament and Cheerleaders Awarded Too

The Gallatin County High School Boys basketball season is underway.   The Hawks competed this week in the Grayville Turkey Invitational and came home with 2nd Place.  The first game was against the host Grayville team and Gallatin came out on top 65 -  60 with Guard Seth Ramsey leading the way with 43 points followed by Audie Goebel with 18.  The second game of the tourney for the Hawks was against Edwards County whom went on to win the event.  The Hawks fell 68 - 50.  The third game of the tournament for the Hawks was Cisne who they beat 75 - 45 with Ramsey and Goebel once again providing the fire power, 27 and 26 points respectively.

Ramsey and Goeble both were picked to the All Tourney Team and the Hawk Cheerleaders brought home the Spirit Trophy.  Below are pictures of Ramsey, Goebel and the Cheerleading team.   Great job representing Gallatin County!

School Board Election Upcoming; Petitions available.

2017 Consolidated Election Petitions for Board of Education Members are Available

Gallatin County Clerk Beth Wargel announces that petition forms for the April 4th, 2017 Consolidated Election for the Gallatin County Unit School District #7 Board of Education Member positions are now available at the County Clerk’s office located at the courthouse in Shawneetown.

Petitions for the school district will be filed with the County Clerk’s office from Monday, December 12th through Monday, December 19th during regular office hours from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.  On the last day of filing the office will remain open until 5 p.m.  Additional information is available when picking up petitions including signature requirements.  If you have any questions pertaining to the election, please contact the County Clerk’s office at 618.269.3025.